Department Of Hepatology

PGI Chandigarh

Dr. Radha Krishan Dhiman

Professor & Head

Dr. Radha Krishan Dhiman is presently serving as Professor & Head of the Department of Hepatology, Postgraduate Institute of Medical Education and Research, Chandigarh. Dr. Dhiman graduated (MBBS) from the King George’s Medical College, Lucknow, India and received his doctorate in gastroenterology (DM) from the Sanjay Gandhi Institute of Medical sciences, Lucknow, India. He is a Fellow of American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases (FAASLD), American College of Gastroenterology (FACG) and National Academy of Medical Sciences (FAMS).

Dr. Dhiman’s main contributions include – in starting Liver ICU for sick patients with liver diseases, in starting a new super-speciality course (DM) in Hepatology for the first time in the country and in starting successful Liver Transplantation program at PGIMER Chandigarh; Hepatitis C elimination and Injection Safety project in Punjab and National Guidelines for National Viral hepatitis Control Program. He is the author of more than 300 publications, including original papers, reviews, book chapters and a monograph. His main research work has been in the areas of hepatic encephalopathy, portal hypertension, viral hepatitis and biliary diseases. He is Editor-in-Chief of ‘Journal of Clinical and Experimental Hepatology’, an official Journal of Indian National Association for the Study of Liver Diseases (INASL).

Dr Dhiman received several National Awards including prestigious Dr. B.C. Roy Award from Honourable President of India in 2006, Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR) awards [Dr. D.V. Datta Memorial Oration Award in 1996, Shakuntala Amir Chand Prize from ICMR in 1998 and Amrut Modi Unichem Award in 2004], Hoechst Om Prakash Memorial Award from Indian Society of Gastroenterology in 1997, Olympus Mitra Endoscopy Award" by Indian Society of Gastroenterology in 2003, Apollo Award of Merit” in 2006 by Apollo Hospitals, etc.Dr. Dhiman is the recipient of International Awards and honours including Harold O Conn Award from American Association for the Study of Liver (AASLD), ‘Young Clinician Award’ from World Congress of Gastroenterology at Los Angles in 1994, from Japanese Society of Gastroenterology at Yokohama in 1996, and from Asian Pacific Congress of Gastroenterology at Hong Kong in 2000.

He is an active member of several International and National medical organizations, including Fellow of American College of Gastroenterology (FACG), American Association for the Study of the Liver Diseases (AASLD), Fellow of National Academy of Medical Sciences (FAMS), Indian Association for study of the liver (INASL), Indian Society of Gastroenterology (ISG), Society of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy of India (SGEI), Indian Medical Association (IMA), International Society on Hepatic Encephalopathy and Nitrogen Metabolism (ISHEN), etc.