Department Of Hepatology

PGI Chandigarh

Dr. Ajay Kumar Duseja


Dr Ajay Duseja is presently working as Professor in the department of Hepatology, Postgraduate Institute of Medical Education and Research (PGIMER), Chandigarh, India. He did his MBBS in 1988, MD (Internal Medicine) in 1992 and DM (Gastroenterology) from PGIMER, Chandigarh in 1996. For last 22 years, he is working as Faculty with focused research in the field of Hepatology (See Academic Qualifications).

He is Fellow of National Academy of Medical Sciences (FAMS), Fellow of American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases (FAASLD), Fellow of American College of Gastroenterology (FACG) and Fellow of the Society of GI Endoscopy of India (FSGEI) (See Academic Qualifications).

He is the National Convener of the Indian National Association for the Study of Liver (INASL) Task Force on Nonalcoholic Fatty Liver Disease (NAFLD), member of the Chronic Liver Disease Foundation (CLDF) NASH Committee (USA), member of the Asia- Pacific Working Party on NAFLD and member of the Gut and Obesity in Asia (GOASIA) working group. He is also an active member of the INASL Task Force on Hepatitis C virus, Hepatocellular carcinoma, Acute-on-Chronic Liver Failure and Drug Induced Liver Injury (See Miscellaneous).

He is author of more than 220 papers in reputed international and national journals including 22 chapters in the Gastroenterology and Hepatology text books (See Publications). His main areas of interest include nonalcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD) and acute-on-chronic liver failure (ACLF). He has total of 55 publications on NAFLD/NASH including 11 chapters on NAFLD in various text books (See Publications).

He is the Associate Editor of the Journal of Clinical and Experimental Hepatology (JCEH), an official journal of INASL, Associate Editor of JGH Open and is on the Editorial board of various international and national journals (See Miscellaneous). He is the former Honorary Treasurer of the Indian National Association for the Study of Liver (INASL) and has been the office bearer and member of various other scientific societies (See Miscellaneous). He is a recipient of various international and national awards and honors (See Awards and Honors).